PDA

View Full Version : Car building - qualification questions

SinglemaltWSKY
12-04-2009, 10:07 AM
Hey,

I've purchased the project car, the engine is now in the build phase - I have some questions regarding requirements for various racing series.

Are there any major considerations (IE things we should definitely NOT do) to keep the car legal for various racing series?

Because I'm fairly new to this, I'm not sure what is considered regulation - or not allowed in certain series. I want the car to be "well rounded" so we can enter it and try different events.

We are considering:

roll cage (any specifications that need to be met? planning to purchase a kit and weld it in ourselves)

possible window replacement (if we go with no glass, does that exclude us from any events? lexan being the alternative)

exhaust placement and sound level (any regulations on placement of the exhaust, I know there are Db restrictions so mufflers will be needed)

The car is going to be trailered.

Any help/advice is appreciated.
Cheers,

Navigator
12-04-2009, 10:38 AM
What car did you buy, and what type of events to you plan on running?

How much horsepower and what size tires do you plan on running?

Need more information to give you a fair response.

SinglemaltWSKY
12-04-2009, 05:22 PM
Wheel and tire package have not been decided yet (we're still early on the build)

Car is a 1997 BMW 328SI, with a 302 Ford windsor (carbureted) - planning on initial 300 HP. The stock interior will be totally removed, along with all other non-essentials.

The event question is a good one - thinking autocross but ideally I would like to be able to enter this car in all kinds of different events to try them out - that's why I need to know what kind of considerations need to be taken in the build.

I don't want to spend all that time building only to find out that I won't qualify to race in any events (or very few) :-)

tashko
12-04-2009, 06:41 PM